BACK TO COLLEGE.

Standard

 

ImageHi, i said i was going to do a post yesterday on the 12th but i forgot about it. So sorry about that. Basically in this post i am going to tell you about what happened when i went back to college yesterday. I only do a few hours a day at college so i don’t need to get up early because i start at about 1pm. So i did all my usual stuff that i do on college days. I got up at about 11am, had a shower and went down for my lunch. After that it was soon time for my taxi driver to pick me up. I was apprehensive about going back to college because if i don’t do thing for a few weeks i become nervous again about it. So anyway my taxi driver picked me up and took me to college. when we got there we waited for a teacher to come outside to meet me (this is what always happens). I was expecting a teacher called John to come out and meet me because he always does on a Thursday. Anyway we waited 15 minutes and someone came out. It wasn’t john, it was someone called Steve who i do know but it completely threw me off because i just wasn’t expecting it.  After i spoke to him for a few minutes he said that i needed to give my new inhaler to the nurse inside. i agreed to go in and do it but as soon as i did so i knew it was a bad idea. i felt uneasy when i got to college because loads of people where milling about as it was the first day, and of course there are a lot of new students so it was even busier inside. So i gave the inhaler to the nurse and she started to ask lots of questions and everyone was bustling about so it was sensory overload (my Mum tells me that’s what it was). And on top of that another teacher came over and started speaking to me so i just had to get out of there so i walked off. When i got back outside i felt shaky and nervous so i told my taxi driver i was going home. So my Teacher (Steve) spoke to me for a few minutes and i went back home then feeling disappointing with myself. I am going to try again on Monday ( i don’t go on Fridays) so i am not looking forward for that. It is harder to get used to it this time because a lot of things have changed so it will take me longer. Anyway Thanks for Reading.

8 responses »

  1. Good luck and you are brave to keep trying, Paul. I hope you get the nutrition you need to help your brain function at its best. Take a good quality fish-oil and multi-vitamin/mineral supplement, every day. Also, eating whole eggs, including the yolks as these have choline, critical for brain function. As you feed your brain it will function calmly.

  2. Hey, guess what? You’re in good company. Because of anxiety, and what I now know to be Aspergers, It took me 14 years from beginning to end to get my 4-year degree…and I’m not stupid, it just appears that way on paper sometimes. Thanks for liking my blog.

  3. Paul: There are just a handful of colleges in the U.S. that have programs specially designed to help people on spectrum acclimate to college life. I personally, couldn’t name them. Your story really drives home the point that accommodating spectrum dwellers is not at all like accommodating people with other types of disabilities. Just remember that it is the people who run this college that are the stupid ones for not trying to make themselves more welcoming to a very qualified and deserving population.

    Don’t be too disappointed with yourself. Cut yourself some slack. If they’re not going to do it, you need to find ways to cushion the blow for yourself. And maybe stepping back when it all gets to be too much is a coping mechanism you can’t do without right now. What’s important is that you are coping, not quitting. Please don’t quit. You deserve a college degree and it will be very helpful to you going through life.

    20 years from now, this probably won’t even be a problem as colleges fall all over themselves to attract and accommodate spectrum dwellers just as they are today for homeschoolers. Unfortunately, for you, it falls to you to be one of the trail-blazers. It’s a dirty job, but someone’s got to do it. Wishing you all the best.

Leave a Reply

